And one IM software to rule them all

Like many people, I manage multiple Instant Messengers. To be precise I have 4 that I can recall so far: ICQ (I think I had this since 1997 – almost a decade now!), MSN, Google Talk and Skype.

I like to bring people’s attention to one wonderful software called GAIM that is able to manage many different types of Instant Messengers. So far I managed to support ICQ, MSN and Google Talk. I have not figured out how to use Skype on GAIM yet. If anyone has any idea, please let me know.

There are other advantages as well. First, it is completely free for use. Second, it runs on multiple platforms. I have run GAIM on Windows, Linux and Sun Solaris without any problems. Finally it has a simple look and feel but this may be an advantage or disadvantage depending on individual taste. Perhaps using different themes is an option for those who find the look too simplistic.

Please note that I have not tested or even checked the existence of voice and video chat functionality as I hardly ever use them.

Leave a Reply

